Tuesday, February 9, 2010

2009 GLO-CAF Awards Top Three Nominees Emerge Feb 16.

The race for the 2009 Glo-CAF Player of the Year will be narrowed down to the final three nominees to be announced in Accra , Ghana on Tuesday, February 16.

CAF will also on that day announce nominees for other categories including Coach of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Club of the Year, Inter-Club Player of the Year, National Team of the Year and Supporters Club of the Year amongst others.

Suleiman Habuba, the CAF Director of Communications said votes from all the 12 members of the Media Committee and 17 members of the Technical and Development Committee have been collated for the announcement.

He said the nominations were based on players’ performance for club and country from January to December 2009 and that the nominations cover all African players in European and the domestic African club leagues. “Obviously, we have made tremendous progress in the process of selecting the winner for the 2009 Glo-CAF Awards ceremony as the five highest scoring nominees have already been forwarded to all the national team coaches of CAF member federations for their vote ”, Habuba explained.

The five top nominees announced in Lagos last December are Drogba Didier of Chelsea and Cote D ’Ivoire, Essien Michael of Chelsea and Ghana, Eto’O Samuel of Inter Milan and Cameroon, Keita Seydou of Barcelona and Toure Yaya of Barcelona and Cote D ’Ivoire.

The 2008 winner, Emmanuel Adebayor of Manchester City and Togo failed to reach the top five. The awards ceremony sponsored by telecommunications giant, Globacom has held in Abuja, Accra, Lome and Lagos .

No comments:

Post a Comment